How Many Continents Are There In The World, What Are The Names Of The Continents?

By  | 

If we ask what the continent is, it is defined as one of the seven main parts of the earth. Continents from large to small; It is ranked as Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Geographers include all islands in the continent with which they are related when describing the continent. For example; Japan is an island belonging to Asia. Greenland and all other islands in the Caribbean Sea are often described as part of North America.

All of the continents correspond to 148 million square kilometers of land (57 million square meters) and almost the whole of the earth is composed of continents. Very little of the total land is formed by islands that do not belong to anyone continent. The surface area of ​​the oceans covers more than twice the combined area of ​​all continents. Asia, the largest continent, has the longest coastlines.

However, coastlines do not represent the true boundaries of the continents. Continents are defined by considering the continental shelves they have. The continental shelf is a slightly sloping area that runs from the coast to the ocean and forms the area of ​​both the ocean and the continent.

According to geographers, continents are also different in culture. For example, Asia and Europe are two different continents of the great landmass called Eurasia and differ from each other both in name and ethnic characteristics. Therefore, most geographers distinguish Eurasia from Europe and Asia. An imaginary line from the Northern Ural Mountains in Russia to the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea from the south divides Europe to the west and Asia to the east.